

PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

MINUTES

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Tuesday, Twelfth day of November, 2024

- 1. The House met at 8.00 a.m. pursuant to notice.
- 2. Hon. Deputy Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

3. ATTENDANCE

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad, Hon. Viliame Gavoka, Hon. Lynda Tabuya, Hon. Sanjay Kirpal and Hon. Shalen Kumar.

4. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Thursday, 31 October 2024 as previously circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

5. COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR

The Hon. Deputy Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members to the special sitting, and those watching the live proceedings on television and the internet.

6. ELECTION OF SPEAKER

The Hon. Prime Minister nominated Justice Filimone Jitoko.

The Hon. Leader of the Opposition nominated Mr Ruveni Nadalo.

The results of the roll call vote were as follows -

Justice Filimone Jitoko – 34 votes

Mr Ruveni Nadalo – 15 votes

Having received the greatest number of votes, Hon. Filimone Jitoko was declared as Speaker of the Parliament of the Republic of Fiji pursuant to Standing Order 17(10).

Hon. Filimone Jitoko was escorted to the table by the Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau and the Hon. Viliame Naupoto, to take the Oath of Allegiance and of Office of Speaker of Parliament.

The Hon. Filimone Jitoko addressed the Parliament as its newly elected Speaker.

7. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau moved that Parliament stands adjourned until Monday, 2 December 2024 at 9.30 a.m.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

The Hon. Speaker then declared Parliament adjourned until Monday, 2 December 2024 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 8.43 a.m.

Speaker of Parliament

Secretary-General to Parliament

12th November, 2024.