

### PARLIAMENT OF THE REPUBLIC OF FIJI

## **MINUTES**

of Proceedings of Parliament at Suva on Tuesday, Ninth day of July, 2024

- 1. The House met at 9.30 a.m. pursuant to adjournment.
- 2. Hon. Speaker took the Chair and read the Prayer.

#### 3. MEMBERS PRESENT

All Honourable Members were present except for the Hon. Dr Ratu Atonio Lalabalavu and the Hon. Alvick Maharaj.

#### 4. CONFIRMATION OF MINUTES

The Leader of the Government in Parliament the Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau moved that the Minutes of the sitting of Parliament held on Monday, 8 July 2024 as previously circulated, be taken as read and be confirmed.

Motion seconded.

Question put.

Motion agreed to unanimously.

#### 5. <u>COMMUNICATIONS FROM THE CHAIR</u>

Hon. Speaker welcomed all Honourable Members, those in the public gallery and those watching the live proceedings on television and the internet.

The Honourable Speaker informed Honourable Members that the following written responses had been received from the respective Ministers, and that copies were available on the Parliament's website –

(a) Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Finance and Strategic Planning, National Development and Statistics the Hon. Prof. Biman Prasad to Written Questions 54/2024 asked by the Hon. Sanjay Kirpal and 74/2024 and 85/2024 asked by the Hon. Premila Kumar; and

(b) Minister for Lands and Mineral Resources the Hon. Filimoni Vosarogo to Written Question 96/2024 asked by the Hon. Jone Usamate.

#### 6. CONSIDERATION OF BILLS

The Hon. Speaker informed all Honourable Members that there were no Bills for consideration.

# 7. RESUMPTION OF DEBATE ON THE SECOND READING OF THE 2024–2025 APPROPRIATION BILL 2024 (BILL NO. 7 OF 2024)

Parliament resumed debate on the Second Reading on a Bill for an Act to appropriate a sum of three billion, nine hundred fifty five million, eight hundred nineteen thousand, four hundred and seventy nine dollars for the ordinary services of Government for the year ending 31 July 2025.

The following Members contributed to the debate -

Hon. Vatimi Rayalu, Hon. Jese Saukuru, Hon. Ioane Naivalurua, Hon. Agni Singh, Hon. Joseph Nand, Hon. Charan Singh, Hon. Sachida Nand, Hon. Lynda Tabuya, Hon. Vijay Nath, Hon. Pio Tikoduadua, Hon. Viliame Naupoto, Hon. Sakiusa Tubuna, Hon. Ratu Josaia Niudamu, Hon. Ro Filipe Tuisawau, Hon. Viam Pillay, Hon. Ratu Isikeli Tuiwailevu, Hon. Penioni Ravunawa, Hon. Tomasi Tunabuna, Hon. Taito Rokomatu, Hon. Siromi Turaga, Hon. Rinesh Sharma, Hon. Ratu Rakuita Vakalalabure, Hon. Alipate Tuicolo, Hon. Iliesa Vanawalu and Hon. Naisa Tuinaceva.

#### 8. ADJOURNMENT

Hon. Speaker thanked all Honourable Members for their contributions and adjourned Parliament until Wednesday, 10 July 2024 at 9.30 a.m.

Parliament adjourned at 4.35 p.m.

#### Speaker of Parliament

#### **Secretary-General to Parliament**

9<sup>th</sup> July, 2024.